RSS Feed

Day 42: Testing the Ions (On Paper)

Posted on

Day 42/180: reviewing ionic equations and solo work time.

They got to work on making ionic equations. The ones I saw looked pretty good. It’s the ones I didn’t see that make me worry. We’ll see how it goes the rest of the week before next Friday’s test. I like these workdays, when I can talk to the kids, see how they’re doing, chat with a couple, overhear a couple of weird conversations.

The chemistry teachers also had a meeting with admin to check in on year-long goals. We’re doing fine, and I’ll be carrying out some stuff on behalf of the teacher for whom I’m subbing; nothing major, basically data collection on how students are doing in a few particular aspects in the department’s focus area.

I’m halfway done with this 12-week assignment, which is hard to believe. A couple of kids asked if they could petition for me to stay all year. I told them to be careful what they wish for. It hasn’t felt like 6 weeks. I love having a lab. I love having “my” kids. I love getting emails about a student and knowing something about them, even though I’ve only known them for a few weeks. The next few weeks will be harder, material-wise and content-wise, and that last week before winter break will be a doozy. But for now, I’m in a good place (now, if I could just get these lab reports graded faster…)

Leave a Reply

