RSS Feed

Day 24: Panic Ensues

Posted on

Day 24/180: correcting nomenclature lab and cramming for the test.

It’s days like today that I wonder what I’ve been doing for the last 9 years, and whether I’m really a teacher or not.

We corrected the lab. My thoughts from yesterday were confirmed (that 1st period got it, and most of the rest of the day was rougher), although not as bad as I had suspected. The panic levels about Thursday’s test were pretty high. I did a review session, and part of me thinks I should have taught nomenclature my way instead of the teacher’s way. I, clearly, don’t know if that would have been better or worse, however.

It’s hard to know just how much to be like the other teacher. I’m definitely not the same person. Several kids have thanked me for being less strict about the departmental no-late-work policy. I’m also less strict on the no-cell-phones policy and the stay-in-your-seat-until-the-bell-rings policy. I’m trying to figure out where my comfort zone is, however.

Leave a Reply

