RSS Feed

Day 1: 180 Days of Regeneration — Evernote

Posted on

I’ve decided to call this section 180 Days of Regeneration. The 180 part is from the multitude of teaching blogs, reflecting on daily school-day experiences. The regeneration part is what I’m doing this year. My 180 days probably won’t be entirely consecutive, nor entirely reflective, but I at least want to chronicle one hundred and eighty days of new growth in teaching, in skills, and in myself.

So with that lofty goal, here goes.


Day 1.

On The List of Things to Do (that needs a better title, for sure), is figuring out Evernote. As far as I can tell, Evernote is supposed to make all of my Post-It notes and notebooks and scraps of things and merge them into a digital format, along with anything digital that I care to add.

Whoa.

I was watching a digital how-to guide, and practicing with my own stuff. Simple things so far:

Evernote and fig jam

Evernote and fig jam


But I definitely get how powerful it is to stuff everything in one location. I love my Delicious site but it’s sometimes frustrating to not be able to notate things on the page itself or particular minutes in videos, not to mention needing to remember other notes and links that I want associated with those particular links.

As much as I use technology, my first instinct is still to grab pen and paper when I’m about to take notes. This is going to be a steep learning curve for me.

Now I need to figure out things to do with it. I’ve set up pages for digital resources (mostly for blog ideas and resources; I’ll leave Delicious for student-oriented links). My husband shared a notebook with me for home-ish-planning purposes. I need to see what I can do with this for my own school-ish purposes…

2 responses »

  1. I’m not sure if it’s available to non-premium users, but one of my favorite things about evernote is that when I take digital notes (using penultimate on my ipad mini) or just pdf my notes (using camscanner) and upload them, they become searchable. It’s not perfect, like my handwriting, but since I’m pretty good at writing clear headers in my notes being able to search them is delightful.

    Reply
    • According to the thing I was watching, yes, the free version can search text (super cool!) Maybe I’ll try taking some notes later…

      Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

