RSS Feed

For Me? You Shouldn’t Have!

Posted on


Hey, I got an award! The Sunshine Award, from Gregory Taylor, for bringing a little brightness or inspiration to blogging (or so says teh interwebs). I think it may be a sneaky way of getting people to pass a chain letter around (so much for that brightness thing, eh?)

The “rules” for the award are as follows:

  1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger created for you.
  4. List 11 bloggers: they should be bloggers you believe deserve some recognition and a little blogging love!
  5. Post 11 questions for them and let them know of their nomination.

Anywho, here’s the entry to go with the award.

I’d like to thank the Academy… Mr. Taylor, I truthfully don’t know you very well, having only “met” last fall via MTBoS. It’s nice to see familiar usernames in my Twitter feed. Considering I only have a few dozen followers on Twitter and my blog, it’s very flattering to receive such recognition at all. Thank you!

And you are…?
Facts about me, huh?

  1. I teach chemistry. I hate the way most people use the words “chemical” and “organic.”
  2. I don’t teach biology. If I put some lab materials down for a few minutes, I don’t want it to have walked, crawled, or oozed away when I get back to it.
  3. In my classroom, “nuclear” only has one correct pronunciation.
  4. My husband has to kick me in the movie theater if the science is just too bad (there’s been more than one occasion).
  5. Coffee smells nice and warm, but I can’t stand the taste. Tea is much more my style.
  6. I would absolutely love to work for Mythbusters, but only behind-the-scenes.
  7. My favorite element is titanium.
  8. I double-majored in college, in chemistry and studio art.
  9. I like watching people learning anything. It’s that cool clicking “noise” you can see in their eyes when they get it.
  10. I don’t really care for sports, but do have a soft spot for baseball.
  11. I wish I knew how to do woodworking and some construction-type stuff.

Is that your final answer?
Questions from Mr. Taylor:

  1. Animation or Live Action?
    Both can be good media if the story’s interesting. Because of the state of CGI and airbrushing, a lot of movies really are animation anyway.
  2. Handwritten or Electronic?
    Handwritten. I’m actually pretty old-school. And, it sucks to take chemistry-related notes (with subscripts and sketches) in digital format without crazy tools.
  3. Fiction or Non-fiction?
    Mostly fiction. I like to read to relax.
  4. Parabola or Circle?
    Science people are all about cycles and completeness. Circle.
  5. Introversion or Extraversion?
    Major introversion.
  6. How you see your alignment. (Good/Evil/Lawful/Chaotic: see image below)
    Actually, I already knew this, but Lawful Neutral. I think a lot of teachers fall into this category: mostly rule-following and willing to help.
  7. A regret you would NOT undo if given the chance.
    I try not to regret things, as it just wastes energy (easier said than done). I’ve tried to learn from my mistakes and take the good things from them, so I don’t want to NOT-undo any of them.
  8. Favourite leisure activity.
    (Oh, you Canadians, with your u’s….) I like reading for fun. Doesn’t happen often any more, so it’s kinda a luxury.
  9. Favourite TV show. (Current or not.)
    I don’t have television service, but I do like some Dr. Who.
  10. Favourite time travel story. (Book, movie, whatever.)
    Dr. Who counts, yes?
  11. This space left blank. Option: Pose a question back to me.
    Okay! I know you write a serial. What other serials do you read?

The nominees for the next award are…
Here’s where I’m going to sorta cop out. Like Justin Aion, I don’t like naming names. Besides that, a significant percentage of my followers have already received the award from other people. So, go ahead and answer my questions if you like:

And so I ask…

  1. What’s your favorite non-teaching-related website?
  2. When you were little, what did you want to do when you grew up?
  3. Where do you most want to go in the world?
  4. Where do you most want to go, within 200 miles (that’s about 120 km)?
  5. Along those lines: metric or imperial?
  6. Best thing to eat that you don’t know how to (or don’t like to) cook/make?
  7. Can you spell your name in elements?
  8. If you had to switch to your non-dominant hand, what would drive you the most crazy?
  9. What’s the weirdest/coolest thing you’ve done (or seen) with common office supplies?
  10. Think of your worst class (you know which one I’m talking about). What’s the best thing about that class?
  11. Why is this award based on 11s?

2 responses »

  1. So I guess there’s a couple things in common then, as far as coffee and sports go. Interesting point about teachers falling into that category alignment too. So how do you feel about the song ‘Titanium’? ^.^

    Regarding the question back to me — I’m not currently reading any serials. That’s partly why I scaled back to posting only weekly in 2014, in the hopes that I would have more time to see what others are doing. To that end I made an account on the “Web Fiction Guide” forums, there’s a bunch there. In the past I’ve read the serials posted up by two other people I nominated, Scott and Andrea.

    And just to toss in a couple other responses to see if it starts a ball rolling…
    1. I’m often watching the review videos on “That Guy With the Glasses”. (tgwtg)
    5. I grew up with metric, imperial makes no sense to me. (It’s in fractions! Unless you’re doing area, then use decimals! And our tons are different! Heck with it.)
    8. I wouldn’t be able to draw for my web serial anymore.

    Reply
    • Titanium. Uh, well, it’s not actually bulletproof (but is pretty strong), so I guess if you think it’ll help your song, go for it.

      Hadn’t heard of TGWTG. Rottentomatoes is my go-to.

      Imperial is dumb. End of story. I’ve decided that next year, I’m going to start talking only in metric (esp. weather) and see how many people it messes with.

      Yes, no serial. I’d hate having to re-learn to write in general. How irritating for all that calligraphy to go to waste!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

