RSS Feed

Why Blog At All?

Posted on

Picking up on Kate Nowak‘s call for reasons teachers blog.

1. What hooked you on reading the blogs? Was it a particular post or person?
I started blogging more than a year ago, mostly to stop annoying my husband with grumblings. I was frustrated with my job, with what felt like lack of professional respect, with the need to renew my teaching license, and with some more philosophical ideas (like grading and grades), and needed an outlet. Strangely, I’ve had a lot less reflection on a day-to-day basis since starting at this one-to-one teaching gig (since teaching is personalized by default, reflection has to be nearly-immediate and quickly finished). There is little professional development at my school, so I was reading particular blogs (starting with Dan Meyer) to help myself get some intellectual stimulation. My husband asked whom I’d actually like to emulate, and that’s where the title of my blog (What Would Neil deGrasse Tyson Do?) came from.

2. What keeps you coming back?
My blog has (at least in my head) turned from a gripe-fest to trying to be more positive and celebrate science-y/math-y people I think are cool in a section called “Lunch Dates“. I got a little rush when I responded to Ben Orlin and he wrote back. Holy crap! someone knows I exist! There’s (truly) some (tiny) hope that I’ll actually get to meet Dr. Tyson someday, but that likelihood is awfully small (don’t tell my animal-hopeful-brain).

3. If you write, why do you write? What’s the biggest thing you get out of it?
Like I said, it’s in some part a way to get frustrations out before I go home to family. Now, I’m trying to use it more as a way of reflecting on the larger ideas in my professional life, rather than the day-to-day things that irritate me. The MTBoS community has been amazing, even (especially??) for a science teacher, and I hope to keep some of these virtual colleagues after the challenges stop.

4. If you chose to enter a room where I was going to talk about blogging for an hour (or however long you could stand it), what would you hope to be hearing from me?I mean, it’s sort of the old thing your English teacher said: who’s your audience and what do you want them to take away? I (as an analytical person) would want to know what’s in it for me. What did you gain from it, but also, so what? and how’s it help teaching? How do you get connected with other people? What can you do with a blog besides… blog?

2 responses »

  1. Love #2 above. I admit I have felt the same kind of rush both on my blog and (less so) through twitter. It’s fun to feel like you matter outside the day to day sphere of your life, isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

