RSS Feed

MTBoS Mission 2: Twittering

Posted on

I’m not sure why I’ve been avoiding a Twitter account. Wait, yes I do. I felt that having a blog was enough time to spend on not-teaching-related-stuff. At any rate, now I’ve got a Twitter account too (@wwndtd, and now linked on the sidebar!). We’ll see how it goes. I’ve already followed a crazy number of people (like most of the Lunch Date heroes nerds of desire people), so maybe this will actually stream-line my nearly-daily searching of various webpages.

As per this week’s MTBoS mission rules, I’m now starting to Tweet and hashtag and all.


The MTBoS mini-missions this week were actually very difficult. Not because the tasks were hard, but because the interaction for me was really uncomfortable. It’s hard for me, a born-and-raised Midwesterner and introvert, to randomly Tweet to three strangers. Somehow, the MTBoS thing (i.e., knowing that these three people were in the same boat) made it slightly easier. But posting to celebrities/gurus was nearly impossible for me. And there’s the pressure that all of this could be read by someone, so just how significant should the content be? For my part, I’m going to try to continue these challenges for a while as a personal goal.

So far, I can definitely see how the nearly-immediate response (especially if you have a lot of mutual-followers) would be awesome for teaching feedback. Heck, I posted a semi-question response and was answered about 9 minutes later by someone across the country, whom I’ve never met. I mean, I knew this is how Twitter is designed to work, but I guess the fact that it actually, ya know, works is astonishing.

I’m actually having problems keeping up with all of the new people. It’s almost too fast. I’m possibly one of the worst multi-taskers in the history of ever, but I thought I’d be able to keep people/issues/links separate in my head; instead, I’m mixing them up a lot, especially all of the math teachers I’m now following, most of whom I’m only recently (and virtually) acquainted with.

6 responses »

  1. Yeah, it was definitely kind of scary for me too. But I’m glad I did it. I feel accomplished and already have collected some resources. You should check out the chat list and times: http://mathchats.pbworks.com/w/page/68161831/Twitter%20Math%20Chats. I participated in #alg2chat last night and it was fun.

    Reply
    • I’d like to try out the chat dealies, but I’m primarily a science teacher. Given the topics in, say, the Alg2 chat, do you think the topics would still be applicable to me?

      Reply
  2. I’m in the midst of the very same experience. Looking for help to make a good impression at a meeting tomorrow and my tweet plea was answered VERY quickly by someone with whom I have had no previous contact. Pretty sweet.

    I’ll search for you there!

    Reply
  3. It can be overwhelming. I’ve used Delicious to save links to blogs I want to refer back to later. You can tag them so they are very searchable later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

